## **Preface**

The XIV School of Differential Geometry, jointly organized by the Federal University of Ceará (UFC) and the Institute of Pure and Applied Mathematics (IMPA), occurred in July of 2008 in the city of Fortaleza, Ceará, Brazil, and was dedicated to Manfredo do Carmo on the occasion of his 80'th birthday. As a consequence of this event, the Revista Matematica Contemporanea dedicates two volumes in honor of Manfredo. In these volumes there are papers of collaborators and colleagues of Manfredo.

When we were invited to publish these volumes of the Matematica Contemporanea specially dedicated to Manfredo, we communicated this fact to several mathematicians worldwide. The reply to this communication was proportional to the solid national and international prestige of do Carmo, evidenced by the high level of the papers composing these volumes.

Manfredo introduced Differential Geometry in Brazil with the contribution of mathematicians who obtained their PhD under his direction, spread all over this immense country, and, with the support of mathematical colleagues. In fact, the 342 participants in this School of Differential Geometry shows the robustness of the inestimable contribution of do Carmo to Brazilian geometry.

It is remarkable and admirable to see Manfredo at the age 80 with his great enthusiasm for life, his joy in doing excellent mathematics today, and his search for improvements to Brazilian mathematics, especially Differential Geometry.

Finally, we would like to thank the financial support of the Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico (CNPq), Coordenação de Aperfeiçoamento de Pessoal de Nível Superior (CAPES), Financiadora de Estudos e Projetos (FINEP), Instituto Nacional de Ciência e Tecnologia de Matemática (INCTmat), Universidade Federal do Ceará (UFC), Fundação Cearense de Apoio ao Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico (FUNCAP), Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de São Paulo (FAPESP) and, Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado do Rio de Janeiro (FAPERJ).

Hilário Alencar Harold Rosenberg